Coverbild Tintoretto
The Gonzaga Cycle
€ 68,00

inkl. MwSt. Versandkosten werden beim Checkout berechnet
Herausgegeben von: Alte Pinakothek, Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, München
Texte von: Dr. Cornelia Syre, Bruno Heimberg, Veronika Poll-Frommel, Andreas Burmester, Peter Dreyer, Julian Kliemann, Jan Schmidt, Ilse von zur Mühlen, Lisa Zeitz, Ursula Baumer, Christoph Krekel, Johann Koller, Bettina Marten, Gudrun Raatschen
Mai 2000 , 256 Seiten
gebunden mit Schutzumschlag
281mm x 230mm
ISBN: 978-3-7757-0888-3
Presse Download
Jacopo Tintoretto is one of the most famous 16th century Venetian painters alongside Tizian and Veronese. His Gonzaga Cycle, now in the Alte Pinakothek in Munich, belongs among the most important 16th century history cycles even if it has not been properly appreciated yet. It was Duke Guglielmo Gonzaga who commissioned Tintoretto to paint a series of eight paintings for two - still existing - rooms in the Palazzo Ducale at Mantova. The first part, completed in 1579, is dedicated to the four markgraves of Mantovia, the second, completed in May 1580, to the dukes Federico II and Francesco III. This publication features an extensive analysis of the finished paintings as compared to radiographic images, thus providing new insights into Tintoretto´s method and allowing for new assessment of the complete cycle. With well-researched yet easily accessible articles about aspects of the cycle's history, style, iconography and technique, this monograph and its critical catalog will make a significant contribution to extending our present knowledge of Tintoretto and the Gonzaga Cycle. (German edition available ISBN 3-7757-0887-1) The artist: Jacopo Robusti, known as Tintoretto (Venice 1518-1594 Venice), born the son of the silk-dyer Battista Robusti, whose profession explains Tintoretto´s common name. A rather short apprenticeship with Tizian, all other training probably acquired autodidactically. Independent master in Venice starting in 1539. Tintoretto became a member of the Scuola di S. Rocco in 1565, in 1566 of the Florentine Accademia.