Ulrike Flaig

SOUNDCHECK - Installationen

€ 12.27

The book is out of print. It may be available from ZVAB or other second-hand book portals.

Ulrike Flaig
SOUNDCHECK - Installationen

Text(s) by Beat Wyss, Christoph Tannert, Renate Wiehager, ed. Gesellschaft der Freunde Junger Kunst Baden-Baden e.V., Renate Wiehager, Galerie der Stadt Esslingen, Bahnwärterhaus, graphic design by Margarethe Hausstätter

Series: Reihe Cantz

German, English

2000. 96 pp., 105 ills.


15.40 x 20.00 cm

ISBN 978-3-7757-9026-0

In her work complex SOUNDCHECK, Ulrike Flaig presents the viewer with an artist's field of investigation. Her installations feature floodlights, vodka glasses, rifle dummies, nylon stockings, light beams, shadowgraphs, sounds and letters. Some of her works look like rough-hewn shacks or makeshift shelters, others resemble delicate transitory visions dissolving before the viewer's eyes. Change itself, the very state of transition and movement, is an ever recurring theme in Ulrike Flaig's experimental groupings. In these, drawing, photography, film, installation and sound production are an equally valid means to an end. It's where things breathe, flow, blink, reflect, where pictures and sounds are made, that the not-yet-determined may revel in its state of suspense. This deliberate, non-finite quality of Ulrike Flaig's installations serves to generate an evocative pictorial narrative guiding the viewer to the artist's aesthetic vision.

Your Wish List is empty

Your Shopping Cart is empty

Recommend this page