The Hugo Boss Prize 2002

€ 19.80

The book is out of print. It may be available from ZVAB or other second-hand book portals.

The Hugo Boss Prize 2002

Translated with commentary by Eine Publikation des Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, foreword by Bruno Sälzer, preface by Susan Cross, text(s) by Francesco Bonami, Yuko Hasegawa, Jörg Heiser, Nico Israel, James Rondeau, Maria-Christina Villasenor


2002. 110 pp., 112 ills.


26.90 x 34.30 cm

ISBN 978-3-7757-1233-0

The Hugo Boss Prize, established in 1996 with a prize money of $50,000, this year will once again be awarded in cooperation with the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. The award goes to artists whose oeuvre makes a significant contribution to contemporary art. The first prize in 1996 went to the American artist Matthew Barney, the second to the Scotsman Douglas Gordon. In 2000, it was the Slovenian artists Marjetica Potrc who was honoured for her oeuvre. This year, the seven members of a jury consisting of renowned museum directors, curators and critics were asked to suggest up to seven artists each, and from these, six artists were nominated: the Belgian artist Francis Alÿs, Olafur Eliasson from Denmark, the Japanese artist Kazuhiko Hachiya, the Frenchman Pierre Huyghe, the Korean Koo Jeong-a and the Albanian-born artist Anri Sala. The announcement of the winner will take place at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in fall of 2002 and will include a solo exhibition for the respective artists at the museum at the beginning of 2003. The book, predominantly with colour illustrations, takes a close look at the works of the finalists.

Your Wish List is empty

Your Shopping Cart is empty

Recommend this page